Blackjack (1991)

J.D. Crowe

Originally released under the title Ramblin’ Boy for Lemco Records, Blackjack is one of the most memorable and instrumentally tight bluegrass albums of its time. Featuring Crowe, Doyle Lawson (mandolin), Larry Rice (guitar) and Bobby Slone (bass), the album features a thrilling mix of bluegrass standards, such as Flatt & Scruggs’ “Somehow Tonight” and “I’ll Stay Around,” alongside contemporary country-rock and folk songs like the Flying Burrito Brothers’ “Sin City.” It’s a stunning display of ambition, progression and heritage, highlighted by Crowe's standout banjo work on songs like “Blackjack” and “Bear Tracks” and Doyle Lawson’s wonderful lead vocals.

*Available On CD

Price: $12.00


Also Available Digitally: